The Best News Source About Television Stations in the Southeastern U.S.

Longtime Baton Rouge Anchor To Retire Next Week

In Baton Rouge, CBS, Leaving the Biz, Louisiana on May 23, 2012 at 4:33 pm

George Sells (Courtesy: WAFB-TV)

After 25 years at the helm of WAFB-TV in Baton Rouge, news anchor George Sells has decided to retire at the end of the month.

The Baton Rouge Morning Advocate reports Sells joined the CBS affiliate in 1988 as the evening news anchor.

The 69-year-old Sells said he and his wife still plan to stay in the Baton Rouge area.

“This is home,” Sells said in the article. “This is the longest we’ve ever stayed anywhere. Prior to this, the longest I stayed anywhere was five years in New York as a correspondent for ABC News, and seven years at NBC station KYW-TV in Philly.”

Sells, a Kingsport, Tenn. native, also worked in Denver and Nashville in the past.

More recently, he was honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Louisiana Association of Broadcasters.

His most memorable moments during his career? Here’s one from the article:

“A man was holed up with a rifle in a building just north of downtown and all of a sudden he started firing. And having been in the military, I knew what rounds sounded like when they were coming close to you because, in other words, the old line is true: ‘You don’t hear the round that kills you.’ But these rounds were coming awful close to us, and I could hear them going over our heads. My audio man was like 60 years old, and I jerked him down to the ground, I said, ‘Get down, Ray! He’s going to kill you, and we’re not going to get any audio!’ Police determined that the guy had spotted me, because I was a familiar face, and he was trying to kill me.”

Donna Britt, Sells’ co-anchor, made the announcement Monday.

“I always knew this day would come, and I’m sad but I’m happy, too,” Britt said. “George, the man who sat next to me for a quarter-century, is retiring at the end of this month.”

The Advocate reports current 10 p.m. anchor Andre Moreau will take Sells’ place on the desk.

Leave a Reply

